Do’s and Don’ts After a Car Accident
Getting into a car accident is traumatizing, even if you manage to walk away without serious injuries. You’re likely confused and overwhelmed with the steps you’ll need to take to get compensation and may have questions like, “What should I do if I sustain an injury in an accident?”, “What if I’m injured but don’t have insurance?” or, “Should I talk to the insurance adjuster?”
The answers to these questions can have serious ramifications on the amount you’re ultimately awarded as well as how strong your case will be should you need to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
If you or someone you love has recently been involved in a car accident, but aren’t sure of your next steps, reach out to us at Adams Cross, LLC. We’re proud to serve clients in and around the Olathe, Kansas area and throughout Johnson County, Lawrence, Wyandotte County, and the Kansas City Metro area.
Filing a Personal Injury Claim in Kansas
Anytime you file an insurance claim or a personal injury claim after an accident, it’s in your best interest to work with an experienced attorney. With claims like this, you’ll need a well-prepared case presented by someone who fully understands state law and how to negotiate with insurance adjusters. You’ll also need a lot of evidence to support your claim and your lawyer can help you gather and organize this.
You’ll also need to be aware of how the state’s personal injury laws can affect how you pursue your claim and ultimately how much you may be able to get. For instance, Kansas follows a modified comparative negligence model, which acknowledges that fault for an accident can be shared between multiple parties. Therefore, if you’re found to share a certain percentage of fault in your personal injury case, your final settlement will be reduced by that percentage. For example, if you were found to be 30% at fault and your final settlement was $60,000, you would only get $42,000.
Do’s and Don’ts After a Car Accident
Do call a personal injury attorney immediately. These cases can be complicated and can take a long time to settle, and you need someone who’s in your corner protecting your rights, advising you on your next steps, and negotiating on your behalf for damages. They can also help you file a personal injury claim should your insurance settlement not meet all your needs.
Do keep every document and record. This includes police reports, medical treatments, photos and video of any damage and the incident scene, as well as contact information and statements from any witnesses who saw the accident happen.
Do write down what you remember as soon as possible. This should include everything you remember leading up to the accident, during the accident, and after the accident. The earlier you do this the more reliable it will be and the more accurate it will be.
Do keep all medical bills and log all doctor’s visits in a calendar. It’s crucial that you’re able to account for all your medical expenses to get compensation.
Do keep a daily journal that records how the accident and any injuries you suffered from it are affecting your work and ability to draw a paycheck, as well as your daily life.
Don’t leave without getting the other driver’s information. This includes their contact information as well as their insurance policy information. Not only will this ensure you have everything you need but it can also help you avoid claims of a hit and run.
Don’t neglect your injuries. Even if you walk away from the accident feeling unhurt or only mildly injured, you should always seek medical attention. This is true regardless if you’re uninsured or underinsured. If you fail to get medical treatment in a timely manner, this could actually be used against you by the insurance company.
Don’t share information about the case to others or on social media. You should also request that your friends and family refrain from posting anything about you on social media until your case is over.
Don’t talk to the insurance adjuster until you’ve spoken with your lawyer. Adjusters will often contact you within a day or two of the accident trying to get you to provide a statement, but this is never a good idea and could negatively affect your case.
Don’t ever accept the first deal from the insurance company. This will almost always be lower than you actually deserve, and likely won’t account for all your future costs, like unforeseen medical expenses and time missed from work. Insurance companies lose money the longer they have to work on your case, so they try to get you to agree to a settlement as soon as possible so they can move on to their next client. You deserve to have your case thoroughly evaluated before any settlement should be negotiated on.
Our Attorneys Are Here to Help
For legal help after an injury accident in the Olathe, Kansas area, contact our team at Adams Cross, LLC. With over 30 years of combined experience, we’re committed to providing professional, personable, and hands-on service for all our clients. Call today to schedule a consultation.