Car Accident Attorneys in Olathe, Kansas
Car accidents are among the major causes of physical injuries and hospitalizations in Kansas and across the United States. Unfortunately, getting injured in a motor vehicle crash can be difficult and emotional. If you or someone close to you were hurt in a car accident in Kansas, you may be entitled to pursue fair financial compensation by filing an insurance claim, regardless of the at-fault party.
With more than 30 years of combined experience, the attorneys of Adams Cross, LLC, can guide, support, and represent you in car accident cases. Our practiced Kansas personal injury attorneys can help you uncover possible legal options to pursue damages. In addition, we will advocate for your best interests and help you seek the financial compensation you're entitled to.
Adams Cross, LLC, proudly serves clients throughout Olathe, Kansas, and the surrounding areas of Johnson County, Lawrence, Wyandotte County, and the Kansas City Metro area.
Rely on Compassionate Legal HelpContact Our Team
Kansas is a No-Fault Insurance State
Kansas is a "no-fault" state for auto accidents. According to Kansas's no-fault system, after a traffic crash, the accident victim will turn to their own insurance policy (PIP coverage) to cover medical expenses, lost wages, and some other out-of-pocket losses – up to the coverage limit – regardless of the person who caused the accident.
Utilizing PIP Insurance
Additionally, a basic personal injury protection policy in Kansas will provide the following minimum benefits:
$4,500 per person for medical bills.
$900 per month for disability or lost income (up to 12 months or $10,800 total).
$25 per day for in-home services, such as housecleaning and other chores (up to 365 days or $9,125 total).
$4,500 for rehabilitation expenses.
$2,000 for burial, funeral, or cremation expenses if the victim died.
Liability Insurance Coverage Requirements
What’s more, Kansas motorists are required to have liability insurance with the following minimum coverage amounts:
$25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury per person in a single accident
$50,000 liability coverage for total bodily injury to two or more people per accident
$25,000 liability coverage for property damage in a single accident.
No-Fault/Personal injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage at $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 per accident.
However, if your injuries and damages exceed the coverage limits of your insurance policy, you may be able to recover compensation by filing a claim or lawsuit against the at-fault party.
Filing Suit Against At-Fault Driver
Furthermore, you may be entitled to step outside the no-fault system in Kansas and file a third-party claim or lawsuit if your claim meets the following threshold:
You exceeded your PIP coverage limit for medical expenses, and
Your injuries qualify as "serious."
According to Kansas law, serious injuries include:
Fracture of weight-bearing bone
Compressed, compound, or displaced fracture of any bone
Permanent loss of body function.
A skilled Kansas car accident lawyer can investigate every detail of your case, determine whether you meet the requirements, and help file your personal injury claim against an at-fault driver within the specified time limit.
Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Kansas, including car accidents, is two (2) years of the traffic crash or injury. This means that you must file a civil action to recover damages within two years from the date of the motor vehicle accident or injury.
Comparative Fault Rule in Kansas
Additionally, Kansas operates using the modified comparative fault rule, with a 50% bar. Under the system, you may seek compensation if you were found to be partially (less than 50%) at fault for your car accident or injuries. However, the amount of damages that you may receive will be reduced by your percentage of fault.
For instance, if the jury awards $30,000 in total damages against the at-fault party, but finds you to be 20% responsible for the car accident, your compensation will be reduced by $6,000. You will only receive 80% of $30,000 ($24,000). According to Kansas's modified comparative fault rule, you will be barred completely from seeking damages if you were equally or mostly (50% or more) at fault for the car accident or injury.
Turn to Reliable Personal Injury Attorneys
Getting hurt in a car accident can be devastating and can affect your mental, financial, and physical well-being. However, you don't have to suffer the pain and financial liability all by yourself. If you or someone close to you were involved in a car accident, you need to act quickly and hire a reliable personal injury attorney to help protect your rights and seek fair compensation.
At Adams Cross, LLC, our team enjoys providing compassionate representation and assistance to car accident victims and their loved ones. With our extensive knowledge, we can direct you through the entire process. Also, our attorneys will keep fighting for your best interests and help you recover fair financial compensation to cover medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering, and other possible damages.
Car Accidents Attorneys Serving Olathe, Kansas
If you or a loved one were injured in a negligent car accident, you may pursue fair financial compensation. Contact us at Adams Cross, LLC, today for trusted legal assistance. Our legal team has the highly-personalized legal guidance and skilled representation you need in your car accident claim. We're proud to serve clients throughout Olathe, Johnson County, Lawrence, Wyandotte County, and the Kansas City Metro area, Kansas.